COVID-19 Updates

*Vaccine availability and appointments* | Additional COVID-19 Resources |  Testing

Please be aware that mask-wearing is required at all UNC Health facilities.

Published on September 27, 2019

KINSTON, N.C. — UNC Lenoir Health Care Hall of Honor is sponsored by the UNC Lenoir Health Care Board of Directors and recognizes those who have had a positive impact on health care in this community.  This year marks the sixteenth year of this distinguished program and eight were honored.  Individuals are recommended for induction based on several facets of distinction including:

  • significant number of years of UNC Lenoir Health Care employment, affiliation, and/or service;
  • documented contribution to UNC Lenoir Health Care exceeds those of the vast majority of peers with results of service seen as extraordinarily critical to the organization’s historical success;
  • commitment to UNC Lenoir Health Care is visibly recognizable to the community to the extent that the individual becomes closely associated with his/her UNC Lenoir affiliation;
  • one who has made a significant and long-lasting contribution to the evolution of medicine in this community.

This year the inductees included the following: Joseph Agsten, MD, community family medicine physician;  Mary Cauley, Ed.D, member UNC Lenoir Health Care Board of Directors; Allen Ham, UNC Lenoir Health Care Chaplain Services;  Esther Hill, UNC Lenoir employee of 49 years;  Rupert W. Jilcott, III, MD, internal medicine physician;  Bennett LaPrade, MD, OB/GYN physician; Charlene Peede, RN, UNC Lenoir Health Care employee for 45 years; and Geraldine Taylor, UNC Lenoir employee with over 40 years of service.


Those honored with induction into the UNC Lenoir Health Care Hall of Honor are recognized on a display board located in the hospital lobby.